CoMFRE operations are supported by the ISU College of Engineering’s Engineering Research Institute (ERI). Research is funded by memberships and by industrial and governmental research grants. The Director works with a five-member Leadership Team to promote the center and determine center policies and procedures.



Ted HeindelDr. Theodore (Ted) Heindel
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Bergeles Professor of Thermal Science and University Professor

Center Coordinator

Program Coordinator

Executive Director

Rodney FoxRodney Fox
Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering
Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering
and Hershel B. Whitney Professor, Global Initiatives

Associate Director

Alberto PassalacquaAlberto Passalacqua
Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Chemical and Biological Engineering – Courtesy Appointment

  Leadership Team Members

Shankar SubramaniamShankar Subramaniam
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Founding Director

Hui HuHui Hu
Professor, Aerospace Engineering
Martin C. Jischke Professor
Associate Chair for Graduate Education
Director, Aircraft Icing Physics & Anti-/De-Icing Technology Laboratory
Director, Advanced Flow Diagnostics & Experimental Aerodynamics Lab

Dennis VigilDennis Vigil
Professor and Associate Chair, Chemical and Biological Engineering